Skip to content

Camping is in-tents. Or in trailers.

August 1, 2012

source

We’re pretty fortunate.

I mean, really, not everyone gets to take a year-long camping trip in their lifetime.

Now, camping with dogs is normal, but most people don’t take their five cats along…especially not when a 12 hour car ride is involved.

THAT was fun.

And, okay, people typically DO cook and clean themselves while camping. (At least I hope so.) But camping does not allow for the use of a Crock-Pot.

Or a coffee grinder.

Or an ice cream maker.

Or…an oven.

Meals are more basic, out of necessity.

Personal hygiene is oft limited to the nearest body of water one can jump into…okay, okay. I’m exaggerating. There’s always the Y.

I’ll stop there.

We bought a beautiful 55-acre parcel of land in midcoast Maine, neighbored by Nature Conservancy land, surrounded by hills, farms and blueberry fields, 20 miles from the ocean.

It can’t get much better.

Unless you add in septic and power. That would make it better. Yes.

(All of the random junk and vehicles in the above picture are gone, but we still have (and currently live in) the mobile home.)

We knew the challenges that awaited us here, and half of  the people in this relationship are doing an incredible job of taking it all in stride, fixing what needs to be fixed, accepting what’s out of reach, and seeing the big picture.

The other half are typing.

 

So, we’re basically camping for a year or so. We have a cooler for a few perishables (and cold beer – you know, the necessities) and the rest of our food is shelf stable. We have a well, with a pump, that we run with a generator anytime we want to pump water to cook with. Come winter, we will heat with wood. We boil water so that it’s hot enough to do dishes. We shower at the YMCA daily. And yes, we have an outhouse.

(I realize this is completely normal to many people, but Spoiled Erin is going through an adjustment phase. Poor Tom.)

We also bought a small generator specifically for use with electronics, because I’ll be damned if I’m going a year without my beloved Internet. Like I said, I’ve got my priorities in order.

We’re making a few improvements to this mobile home, while spending as little money on it as possible. Just enough to make it livable for a little while.

Picture our gorgeous, handcrafted log home in the aerial photo above. That’s what I’m doing. (It helps if I close my eyes, or face away from the trailer.)

This is fantastic motivation for us to save money and build quickly.

In the meantime, I’m trying to focus on what we have OUTSIDE these walls. For example, our neighbors are quite lovely.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Dates permalink
    August 1, 2012 11:23 am

    your going to be fine.just stay strong and realize that no matter what happens as long as you and tom stick through everything together then it will all be ok. love is an amazing power and overcome any obstacles. you guys will do great things in maine i know it. 🙂 miss you!

  2. Melissa Rycroft permalink
    August 1, 2012 5:06 pm

    Deer? There are no deer in Maine…

  3. Sue permalink
    August 1, 2012 5:20 pm

    Oooo sweet girl, I love you & you’ll do fine with this. (much better than I!) I’m holding on to the “one year camping trip” line.

    Be happy & know we love you guys!

  4. Carol permalink
    August 2, 2012 12:34 am

    Well, it sounds like you have a good attitude and humor. With Tom by your side, I know you will be fine. Of course I miss not having you really close, but like Sue, I am also holding onto that “one year camping trip” !! Love YOU!

  5. August 17, 2012 1:51 am

    I just want to say that NIVER-syle camping does often involve ice cream. 🙂 But you’ve met my Niver.

Leave a Reply

