Skip to content

Things I’m Learning As I Go, Vol. II

August 27, 2012

1. Do NOT come to the laundromat during fair week and expect to find open machines. Also expect a very…different population at the laundromat during fair week.

2. Porcupines are VERY awkward little creatures. Also, they don’t run. They slowly waddle away when chased. And when I say “chase” – I mean “walk slowly in his direction.” No wonder they’re so pointy. If I couldn’t outrun…well, anybody, I’d probably want to be pointy too.

On second thought, after evaluating my running ability…perhaps I should look into becoming pointy.

3. You can’t bring an empty growler to a brewery to be filled unless it initially came from that brewery. For example, my Lake Placid Pub & Brewery growler would not be eligible for a fill at Marshall Wharf Brewing Company.

Though apparently this rule does not apply to pint glasses, as evidenced by these tasty brews consumed at the BBQ joint adjacent to Atlantic Brewing Company in Bar Harbor.

4. The turkeys. They’re everywhere. If you’re a turkey, midcoast Maine is the place to be.

this is a Tom, but NOT a turkey. (most days.)

5. Maine is a happier place to be when the guy in the picture above is here with me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Rycroft permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:39 pm

    Nice photo! Where’s the one of the porky waddling away?

  2. Kim Walton permalink
    August 27, 2012 4:16 pm

    I don’t know many women who would be willing to stay alone in such an isolated area, most particularly in fairly unknown territory. I would have been damn glad to see him, too! I think you’re awesome! Go Erin!!!!!

    How’s Marv?

  3. August 27, 2012 7:23 pm

    need a marv update asap

Leave a Reply

