Skip to content

Lobster Rolls, Two Ways

September 4, 2012

We made lobster rolls the day after we made steamed lobster, several weeks ago.

Remember that? I know, it’s been awhile…what with work and the countless vet trips and all, I’ve lost track of time. Where was I? Oh, yeah. Lobster rolls.

We didn’t eat until after 8:30pm that day.
Have you ever tried to take a decent picture lacking not only natural light, but artificial light, too?

We have these great little LED 9-bulb battery-powered lights that we bought from a store in Belfast.
Tom held two of them directly over my dinner.
We both wore headlamps.

And the pictures? They were awful.

I resigned myself to the fact that I’d have to make them again before I could share them with you.  

(Darn, right?)

So on Friday night, I thought I had plenty of daylight left. …Then the sky filled with dark clouds, thunder started rumbling, and I decided to face the facts: y’all are getting some terrible photos whether you like it or not.

Who knows? Maybe lobster rolls just aren’t that photogenic anyway.

This time around, Tom steamed and picked the lobsters while I was at the vet (again) with the Marv. I came home and prepared the lobster salad as below.

Two batches, one classic (well, almost) and one spicy.

Both were tasty, though I think we both preferred the stand-by classic version. I really liked the lobster with the avocado though, so maybe the dressing just needs a little tweaking.

You mean I’ll have to eat more lobster in the name of research? Darn.

(spicy on the left, classic on the right)

I used the meat from approximately two lobsters to make each batch. That’s four lobsters total, for those of you keeping track at home.

The “classic” batch got enough mayonnaise to thinly coat the lobster, salt to taste, and three green onions, thinly sliced. That’s it.

To the spicy batch, I added mayonnaise, the juice from one lime, a few splashes of Tabasco sauce ( I used the green kind), approximately 1/2 teaspoon chili garlic sauce, a teaspoon or so of wasabi paste (I made mine from Penzeys wasabi powder), 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro, and salt to taste.

Each batch gets tossed to coat, then chilled. (Notice I didn’t say refrigerated – chill however your circumstances allow. Say you don’t have a refrigerator, and your lobster winds up in a cooler filled with block ice and local beer? That’s perfect.)

Next up, the rolls. New-England style rolls are key; they’re split on top, so you can butter each side and toast them in a cast iron skillet.

Each roll gets lined with a large leaf or two of lettuce, for crunch.

Then the lobster salad gets divided among the rolls.

Then, the rolls get devoured.

(Sorry I didn’t document that step for you. Things moved along a little more quickly than anticipated. Whoops.)

As a side note, I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to boring, side-split, run-of-the-mill hot dog buns. We butter and toast the New-England style rolls for plain old hot dogs now, too.

God, when did I become a hot dog bun snob?

(Did you know there was such a thing as a hot dog bun snob?)

spicy rolls were adapted from this site, and tweaked to accommodate what I had on hand.

* * A Very Marvy Update, Part II: The vet decided to keep him yesterday morning, to pass a catheter and figure out why he wasn’t urinating on his own. He found a good deal of inflammation in the urethra, so he decided to keep the Marv overnight, catheter in place, and re-evaluate today. Again, fingers crossed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    September 4, 2012 8:57 am

    I used to love new england rolls. Id get them from wegmans and kind of forgot about them the last few summers. Good call on that.

Leave a Reply

