Skip to content

Oh, hi there!

September 26, 2012

I wrote something for you in my absence. I’ll paste it below.

”                           j                         sh

a                            y

t                   ”

Make sense?

That’s about all my computer was displaying to me for about a week. I hope YOU can read it.

Turns out, my hard drive failed…which can usually be filed under “Not Good.”

The entire ordeal forced me to finally get an external hard drive to back up all my photos and documents (something I’ve been putting off doing for AGES).

I also, obviously, had a new hard drive installed in my MacBook.

All for approximately a tenth of what it would cost me to replace this machine with the shiny new MacBook Pro with Retina display I’ve had my eye on.

*sigh*

Moving forward.

First and foremost, a Marvin update has been requested. He’s doing great. We had a checkup last Monday and his stitches look fantastic; they’ll start to dissolve and fall out on their own any day now.

An even bigger deal is that he’s HAPPY. And I don’t mean just “oh good, I can finally pee again without a catheter” – I mean, he’s probably the happiest he’s been since showing up on our doorstep three or four years ago (which is saying something, given that he’s not allowed outside and this place is TINY).

Part of me wonders if he’s had little issues all along (but not severe enough to require a vet trip) and we just didn’t realize it. Hard telling, but he’s a much happier cat, and that’s all that matters.

He’s even more tolerant of our “special” boy, Newman. (Trust me on the “special” part.) 

So, what else is going on up here in Maine?

Well, work is fairly consuming for both of us, so we’re making an effort to take it easy and catch up on rest on our days off. That said, we’ve taken some fabulous hikes. This place is breathtaking.

We spent Saturday at the most impressive fair I’ve ever been to, the Common Ground Country Fair. The fair ran from Friday to Sunday, and we easily could have spent all three days browsing the stands, dropping in on talks and demonstrations, and soaking up information.

I’ve also been exploring the local farmer’s markets and shops, trying some new lunch spots (most with a view) and stalking the resident Red-tailed Hawk at the laundromat.

In my “unplugged” time, I even went a little crazy with a (small) purchase and am attempting to knit. I got sucked into a little yarn shop in Camden and walked out with a skein of yarn and a pair of circular needles. Here’s hoping my project winds up looking at least SOMETHING like what it’s supposed to. 

Fall is definitely here. The trees are changing, the nights are getting colder, and we’ve built a fire in the wood stove several times already.

Translation: Tom has built a fire in the wood stove several times already.

I’ve decided that I love having a wood stove. It’s a very “cozy” heat compared to forced air. Hard to describe, but I’m a fan. (Not that I have a clue how to USE it.)

In general, I’m just trying to soak up as much of this place as possible.

(Photo-heavy post to make up for my recent lack of words. Since a picture is worth a thousand, I figure I must be caught up, right?)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Walton permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:59 pm

    You’re back! Yay!!!! I can only imagine the satisfaction and deep contentment you must feel at helping Marvin feel so fantastic! It must warm your heart every time you see how happy he is. That is awesome! Job well done 🙂 I have been a little envious, thinking how beautiful fall is going to be there. You are making enough sacrifices to deserve the perk. Love the pictures and the update! Take care and stay warm!

  2. September 26, 2012 11:11 pm

    miss you ❤

  3. Geri Fisher permalink
    September 27, 2012 1:35 am

    Beautiful pictures. Beautiful words. Happy cat. Life is good.

  4. Melissa Rycroft permalink
    September 27, 2012 1:40 pm

    I can’t wait to see a picture of the knitting!
    I miiiiiissssss you!

  5. Carol permalink
    September 27, 2012 3:17 pm

    Wow, great pictures! sounds like you are doing great and I am so happy Marvin is doing so well. Knitting on round I found to be hard, but then I am a crocheter. And, I miiiiiiissssss you also!

  6. Melissa Rycroft permalink
    September 27, 2012 9:51 pm

    Did you meet Eliot Coleman?

    • emrycroft permalink
      September 27, 2012 10:58 pm

      I don’t think so, but after doing a little reading about him, I wish I had! There was way more to take in than a single day allowed for.

Leave a Reply

