Skip to content

News

October 27, 2012

I’ve been meaning to sit down and write this post for some time now.
I just haven’t done it.

Mainly* because I’m not exactly sure what to say. Or how to say it.

So I’ll just say it.

We’re moving back to New York.

Don’t get me wrong. We LOVE Maine. And a big part of me is really sad to be leaving this place. We’ve been having a lot of fun, and I feel like we’re just getting started here.

But there are too many things (and people!) to be missed in New York to leave it all behind, permanently, at this point in our lives. So – while we still have the chance – we’re going home!

An unfortunate reality is that we need to be able to work, wherever we wind up. (Cruel, cruel world.) I was given an opportunity to return to the job I left behind when we moved, provided we come sooner than later.

So instead of spending a full year here, we’ll be heading back mid-November.

We’ve really been very lucky, first to be able to explore the possibility of living here, and to have the opportunity to return home again. So there’s that.

And I am VERY excited to see my family and friends.

But I’m going to miss all the things we’ve been able to do here, and the things we haven’t gotten around to yet.

Of course, we’re not leaving Maine behind forever.
I don’t think I could.

I’m keeping my beautiful piece of land on a dirt road 15 miles from the coast. You can’t have it. It’s mine.
We still want to build a little cabin here.
Vacation here.
Retire here.

And of course, there are plenty of things I’d like to do back in WNY; things I always said I’d get around to “someday” but never did. I’m going to do those things.

I’d like to continue to blog. I know this space was supposed to chronicle our time in Maine, which (for now) is drawing to a close, but I’ve enjoyed having a space to share my photos and experiences.

Even with 600 miles between Erin and the lobster, erinlobster could still work, don’t you think?

Smooch thinks so.

(I realize this is disjointed. I’m still trying to process everything myself. I’ve been sort of living in denial, but it’s almost November. So. Out from under my rock I come.)

*It’s really a challenge to type this word now. Everything here is “mainely” something-or-other. Cute play on words, but not so good for my ability to write properly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Geri Fisher permalink
    October 28, 2012 12:18 am

    So glad you will be continuing your blog. I love your writing, no matter where you are.

  2. Kim Walton permalink
    October 28, 2012 2:36 am

    Yes, mam, it will definitely still be entertaining, and please don’t stop blogging! I enjoy it so much! I will miss the beautiful pictures, and adventurous stories but am glad you are coming home. I am equally glad that you are not giving up on your dream. It will be there waiting for you when the time is right. I bet your little birdie who smashes into your window will be glad to see you! 😉
    KEEP WRITING!

Leave a Reply

